Mass Appraisal Specialist (MAS)

The purpose of the MAS designation is to recognize professionalism and competency in a wide range of matters covering mass appraisal theories, techniques and application. 

Professional designees will be able to use this designation in conjunction with the valuation of a wide range of property types, property appraisal and assessment administration issues and property tax policy statements in accordance with IAAO's commitment to excellence.

Note: Please review the MAS Information Sheet carefully before applying for candidacy.  


    To qualify for the MAS designation, the following qualifications and requirements must first be demonstrated to be eligible to sit for the master examination:
  1. The candidate must have at least three (3) years of experience in mass appraisal of real property.
  2. The candidate must have credit for the following eight (8) educational courses:
    1. IAAO Course 101: Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal
    2. IAAO Course 102: Income Approach to Valuation
    3. IAAO Course 300: Fundamentals of Mass Appraisal
    4. IAAO Course 331: Mass Appraisal Practices and Procedures
    5. IAAO Course 332: Modeling Concepts
    6. IAAO Course 333: Residential Model Building
    7. IAAO Workshop 171 Standards of Professional Practice and Ethics
    8. Residents of the United States are required to take either IAAO 151 or a Foundation-approved two-day USPAP course. Examination cannot be challenged. Residents outside the U.S. must provide proof of passage of a course covering the particular appraisal standards that govern appraisers within their jurisdiction in lieu of taking either IAAO 151 or a Foundation-approved two-day USPAP course. In the absence of a local standard, USPAP is required.
  3. Prior to submitting any report under this section a candidate must be enrolled and in good standing in the MAS program. The candidate must have credit for one demonstration of knowledge project, a demonstration narrative appraisal report on a universe of properties.
  4. The candidate must pass a four- (4-) hour MAS Master Examination. This examination can be given only after all other requirements have been met.
  5. Upon successfully completing the MAS Master Examination, the candidate must submit an affidavit attesting to his or her experience before the designation can be conferred.
  6. The candidate must, prior to sitting for the MAS master examination, hold an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university. In lieu of an associate degree, candidates must be a high school graduate (or equivalent) and satisfy one of the following options:
    (1) Complete a minimum of twenty-one semester hours of specific subject area coursework or pass College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) exams equivalent from an accredited college or university with a grade of “C” or higher. Subject areas allowed are: English Composition, Economics or Finance, Geography, Algebra, Geometry, Statistics or higher mathematics, Accounting, Business Law, Real Estate Law or Valuation. Three semester hours equals ten points; 70 points are required.
    (2) A minimum of seven years of verifiable mass appraisal and/or assessment administration experience. One year of experience equals ten points; 70 points are required.
    (3) Any combination of education and experience specified in F.(1) and F.(2) that equals 70 points.

The Master Examination

The written master examination for the MAS designation is specific to the subject. It is a test of competence, testing the candidate's knowledge of the specific subject. The examination is given only after all general and specific requirements have been satisfactorily completed.

The examination may be administered by a proctor at any location and on any date; it is preferred that the proctor be a CAE designee, or a designation holder in the specialty. However, the Professional Development Committee (PDC) may authorize a non-designee to proctor the examination. Proctors cannot be related to the candidate, nor may they proctor if there is any potential conflict of interest.

An oral examination may be required at the discretion of the PDC. A candidate failing a master examination is permitted to retake it after thirty (30) days.

Equivalencies with Other Organizations

Candidates satisfactorily completing the Certificate Program in Real Property Assessment (CPRPA) (including BUSI 444), the Diploma Program in Urban Land Economics (DULE) (Assessment Option), or the Bachelor of Business in Real Estate Degree (BBRE) from the University of British Columbia (UBC) may receive educational equivalencies for all IAAO non-standards and ethics educational courses required in the MAS program. Candidates must still complete IAAO Workshop 171 and IAAO Workshop 151 or an approved equivalent. Further, a demonstration report waiver is available towards applicable requirements for those satisfactorily completing BUSI 444. Exam, degree, and experience requirements also apply. See the Qualifications section above for full requirements.

Content provided for informational purposes only. IAAO’s Designation Program is governed by IAAO Procedural Rules. In the event of a discrepancy, the Procedural Rules prevail.